Excerpted from The Giver by Lois Lowry.

This tightly plotted story and its believablecharacters will
stay with readers for a long time."--Starred, Publishers Weekly

* "The theme of balancing the values of freedom and security is beautifully presented."--Starred, TheHorn Book

* "A powerful and provocative novel."--The New York Times

a message from the author

To listen to this message from Lois Lowry, click here.

In The Giver by Louis Lowry, this place exists every day.

The receiver of memory, the giver, is the only person who is able to the true pleasure of life.

Lois Lowry demonstrated this concept in The Giver.

In a world with no poverty, no crime, no sickness and no unemployment, and where every family is happy, 12-year-old Jonas is chosen to be the community's Receiver of Memories. Under the tutelage of the Elders and an old man known as the Giver, he discovers the disturbing truth about his utopian world and struggles against the weight of its hypocrisy. With echoes of , in this 1994 Newbery Medal winner, Lowry examines the idea that people might freely choose to give up their humanity in order to create a more stable society. Gradually Jonas learns just how costly this ordered and pain-free society can be, and boldly decides he cannot pay the price.

Jonas is the main character in the book The Giver, my favorite book.

Ask anyone under age 28 about and you’ll get a strong response. For many young people, is the first book they read that truly talks to them. It demands a level of both outward observation and inward reflection that is new and, judging from the passion so many feel for the book, thrilling. Why was it so clear to me the book wanted to be an opera? First and last, it is filled with musical moments. Every time the Giver transmits a memory to Jonas there is an outpouring of descriptive text crying out to be turned into orchestral music. There is no stage action: only music. Every time Jonas has a moment of reflection or realization, this is the expression of the inner voice that is the very stuff of opera. The characters each have utterly distinct voices – including Mother, Father, Lily, Fiona, Asher - who sang to me in distinct rhythms and styles. The vagaries of the story itself, its largeness and opacity, the fact that much about The Community is articulated, the continuous thread of question marks for both Jonas and the audience, all these are made to order for dramatic music theater.

I loved the boook The Giver, and I truly believe that everybody should read it!

The Giver Quartet // by Lois Lowry | The Aroma of Books

But a book like The Giver is a much more complicated book and therefore it comes from muchmore complicated places--and many of them are probably things that I don't even recognize myself anymore, if Iever did.

The Giver by Lois Lowry | Penguin Random House Audio

Perhaps Jonas isremembering his Christmas memory--one of the most beautiful that the Giver gave to him--as he and Gabriel are freezingto death, falling into a dreamlike coma in the snow.

Analysis and Summary of The Giver by Lois Lowry …

What do these three books suggest about the importance of hearing from more than one historical voice?

Language Arts -- The ending of The Giver may be interpreted in two very different ways.

I like how Lois Lowry decribes the memories that The Giver gave to him.

Read-Alikes for Lois Lowry’s The Giver

Imagine living in a society of sameness where you find no color, no family connections, and no memory--a society where life is governed by rigid rules that resist change and resent questioning. Welcome to the world of ’s 1994 Newbery award-winning book The Giver, a powerful and controversial book about a utopian community and young boy’s dawning realizations about oppression, choices and human connections.

We deliver the joy of reading in 100% recycled packaging with free standard shipping on U.S.

Free The Giver Essays and Papers - 123HelpMe

How does the mainstreamculture put pressure on such a group?


Vocabulary/Use of Language

Lois Lowry helps create an alternate world by having the community use words in a very special way.

In the book, The Giver, by Lois Lowry, Jonas is making a new beginning by making an end.

A Book Review on Lois Lowry’s The Giver | The Book …

Lowis Lowry’s 1993 novel “The Giver” may seem like a remake of the 1932 “Brave New World” by Aldous Huxley given their similar plot lines, but these two novels also have their differences.